Tags

I love, love, love doing laundry!  Out of all of the household chores laundry and vacuuming rank tops on my list.  I don’t have a fancy, dandy high-efficiency washer, or dryer for that matter, but I love to hear the sound of the washer as background noise.

My laundry schedule is a bit all over the place because I try really hard not to do laundry on the weekends to save time for other things.  I strive to get my loads done either early in the morning before work or in the early or late evening after work.

As much as I love doing laundry, I am not always the best at putting certain items, particularly sheets and blankets, away….in a timely manner. Somehow they make it out of the dryer and may sit folded nice and neatly for a day or two before I get around to putting it up.  Oh well, its clean.  LOL  That’s what matters!

I was taught, I think it was either Mom or my Aunt, when I first started doing laundry, too many years ago to remember, that baking soda and white vinegar were good to use in laundry to keep things fresh and deodorized, remove bacteria and helpful for stain removal.   I used them for a while but somehow gradually moved away from using them in my wash.  I think because quite simply it just wasn’t cool.  Now the old-fashioned tried and true ways – of doing just about every little thing -are back in vogue.  Who would think modern women would be quilting and canning?  Go figure!

Recently I had a clothing item, a white t-shirt, that I noticed didn’t appear as fresh as I wanted.  It wasn’t dingy or yellowed, it just looked blah.  Kind of dull.  So, I decided to add a little vinegar.  Voila!  Good as new. Beautiful crisp, clean, clear white restored.  Nice and fresh.

I was trying to find an alternate way to add the vinegar without pouring it in the wash.  I modeled this recipe to make my own laundry detergent. http://www.onegoodthingbyjillee.com/2014/02/diy-homemade-laundry-detergent-tabs.html

I always keep Borax 20 Mule Team Detergent Booster on hand because I use it regularly but I didn’t have all of the ingredients (for either the trial size or full size homemade laundry detergent).  I’ve heard of Fels Naphta but have never even heard of washing soda….something to investigate another day.

I used what I had.  I didn’t make the detergent tabs either and just used it as a detergent powder.

Most importantly, it worked well.

Have you ever tried making your own laundry detergent?

 

