Tags

, , , , ,

It is always a great thing to celebrate another New Year!

However, the freshness of a new year can be a trying time for people who berate themselves and stress over which resolutions to make, and strive to maintain, over the next twelve months.  We all know the popular resolutions – lose weight, save more, stop smoking, etc.

It’s been way too many years for me to count since the last time I made a New Year’s resolution.  Instead, I do one of two things to help me grow and evolve.  I choose a word that I want to focus on for the year.  For example, patience.  This one was a challenge for me.  You know the saying “You get what you ask for”. Well, let’s just say I asked for patience and numerous life scenarios put me in positions where I had to be patient.

The second thing I do is to set goals.  Now I am a regular goal setter but at the beginning of each year I try to establish a goal or two that is really more of a habit or will evolve into a lasting lifelong habit.  Something I wouldn’t normally think of as a goal but that allows me to truly grow and find time for more of the things that are really important to me.  I have established two goals for 2015.

My first goal this year is to manage my time better.  It sounds easy.  It’s not.  I overextend myself a lot and then wonder why I have no time left.  This is an ongoing situation in my life and I’m trying really hard now to manage it better. We’ll see how this one goes.  I’ve actually started this subconsciously after Thanksgiving by limiting my time on Facebook, checking emails, etc.  I’ve made the committment to myself for 2015 so now it’s a real “official” goal for me.

My second goal is to think of something I love or like about myself every day. Now I’m not talking about something I need to improve upon or critique.  We do that every day with a constant stream of thoughts running through our heads:  “my stomach is too big”, “I wish my hair was curly instead of straight”, “why can’t I be more organized like so and so?”

The objective of this goal is to bless myself with love.  Not in an egotistical kind of way.  Only to say things to me and about me that are positive, life affirming and nonjudgemental: “it felt good to listen with an open heart to my coworker who was struggling with a deep issue with her son today”, “I am grateful for the ability to express myself”, “I love that I have positive relationships with all of my family members”, etc.

This morning I started my day by telling myself I’m beautiful.  It was hard.  How often do we tell ourselves we’re beautiful?  Your beauty may be physical or it may be internal (e.g., you’ve got a great heart, you’re gifted in connecting with seniors, you always find a way to make everyone laugh).

We’re all beautiful in so many different and unique ways and we need to tell ourselves that we’re beautiful.  The why doesn’t matter.  We just need to know that we are.

Say it to yourself.  You’re beautiful.  Then breathe and let it sink in.  Do not say it and then add the word but (for this flaw or that flaw).

Simply tell yourself.

You’re beautiful.

Have you ever stopped to tell yourself that you’re beautiful?

smile-your-beautiful

 

