Tags

, , , ,

PresentAuthor Spencer Johnson wrote a great book titled The Present.  It was required reading during a course in graduate school, along with his mega popular Who Moved My Cheese?  This quick read, a fable/parable between an old man and a younger man, truly intrigued me and left a lasting impression.  Some would argue that it is simplistic.  I counter that it is a powerful and necessary message of balancing past, present and future.

Between juggling deadlines and unexpected projects at work, late work hours, tons and tons of snow here on the East coast, shoveling snow, life, trying to be timely in returning calls/texts, shoveling more snow (is Spring ever going to get here?) and just needing an extra 5-6 hours in each and every day its been challenging to keep my head above water.

With so much going on my mind has been in overdrive racing ahead, living in the future by constantly thinking of what I need to do/should do, who I need to follow-up with/email/call, which project to prioritize first, thinking of ways to manage my manager’s and client expectations, etc. I discovered that I’m losing myself, my joy and my ability to just live in the moment.  The now moment.  My present moment. I’ve had to stop and refocus.  Be mindful.

Now, yesterday, and tomorrow words on blackboard, Time concept.

I believe this precious gem of a book is often underrated.  The tagline for the book says:  The Gift That Makes You Happier and More Successful at Work and in Life Today! I may need to reread this book.  But for right now I’m much happier and more joyful now that I’m refocused and getting my balance back.

Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past.
See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland. ~ Isaiah 43:18-19

Are you missing out on things in the present by living too much in either the future or the past?

